EPUB and MOBI format are available for download [For Print on Demand in ''Paperback'' format contact us for Bulk Order

Glynn County Travel Guide

Glynn County, Georgia, USA: The History and Tourism Environment, a Guide

Roman Reynolds
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Book Formats: Print "Paperback" | Epub | Mobi, Contact us for higher print order

Glynn County, Georgia, USA. The History and Tourism Environment, a Guide. Vacation Packages. Glynn County, on Georgia's southeastern coast, was created on February 5, 1777, as the state's seventh county. It now comprises Jekyll Island, St. Simons Island, and Sea Island, as well as the mainland between the Little Satilla River to the south and the Altamaha River to the north. The county's largest communities are the town of Brunswick, along with Jekyll, St. Simons, and Sea islands. Of these, only Brunswick, the county seat, is incorporated. Glynn County borders Brantley, Camden, McIntosh, and Wayne counties. Before European colonization, Indians of the Lower Creek Nationinhabited the area. In 1741 the Trustees of Georgia envisioned just two counties, Frederica and Savannah, but after the Trustees' charter ended in 1752, the colony was divided in 1758 into eight parishes. Georgia's first constitution of 1777 combined two of these parishes, St. David and St. Patrick, into Glynn County. Jekyll and St. Simons islands were annexed by the county in 1789, but in 1805 some of its inland area was lost when land from Glynn County's western region was added to neighboring Wayne County. The 422-square-mile county was named for John Glynn, an English lawyer and member of Parliament who was friendly to the colonies. Sparsely settled before the American Revolution (1775-83), the area saw most of its few inhabitants flee to Florida and inland Georgia during the war. After the war, however, veterans established homesteads in a number of Glynn communities